We Are Where We Are Meant To Be

Anin | Suara Senar Nirwana ⑇
3 min readAug 5, 2022

At one moment in life, we might feel like we’re lagging behind especially when we compare ourselves to those around us. Comparing ourselves to the other is not a good thing from the very first place, indeed, but we can’t help it at most of the times.

In my case, I do often feel like I’m being left behind. My friends are getting married and build their household together with their loved ones already. My friends are going abroad to pursue a master degree and exercise their passion in learning. My friends are being promoted here and there, moving to a more and more prestigious company. My friends are… my friends are… my friends are. I happened to write this too on another story and my stance is still the same: the list will keep on going if we compare ourselves to the others because we will always see them as someone who is “more” than us.

Then again, sometimes we can’t help but compare ourselves to the other. However now that I learn it, the only person we have to compare ourselves to is our past-self. Meaning, the yesterday us, the weeks ago us, the last month us, the last year us, etc. By doing so, we’ll be able to see how improved we have been, and perhaps find a tiny bit of gratitude that we’re going somewhere.

“You are the greatest project you will ever work on”

By being in a depressive state, I have the experience that it doesn’t always work. I tried so hard to compare myself only to my past-self but I can’t seem to see the improvement. I…

--

--

Anin | Suara Senar Nirwana ⑇

Environment & Sustainable Development student-researcher. Loves to turn my experience and perspectives into writings to be read widely 🍉✨🇮🇩